Maryland basketball's Big Ten schedule announced, with high-level slate of home games

Maryland basketball’s Big Ten schedule announced, with high-level slate of home games

The stage is officially set for Maryland men’s basketball, with its 2022-23 Big Ten conference schedule released Thursday. The Terps will host six 2022 NCAA Tournament teams at Xfinity Center this season as part of a conference schedule that includes five weekend home games.

Big Ten play begins in early December as Maryland hosts Illinois on Dec. 2 and travels to Wisconsin on Dec. 6. The pair of early conference games is part of a busy month stretch that sees the Terps face Saint Louis, Miami/Providence, Louisville , Illinois, Wisconsin, Tennessee and UCLA.

“I think the schedule is a little bit tougher than probably I should have done, but we have enough home games where I think we can get some good momentum. I know they’re very similar to Brenda [Frese’s] schedule]and the fact that think we’re not going to be really smooth in November, early December. I just don’t think it’s going to be possible, but I’m not worried about that,” Maryland coach Kevin Willard said earlier this week. I really like this team. I think by the time January, it’s — I think it’s we have veterans, Jahmir Young, Donald Carey, you talked about Donta and Hakim — we have enough guys that have played college basketball at the highest level that I’m not worried. Maybe some stumbles early on. That’s not going to derail this [team]. I think that’s what I love about this group. They’re very focused.”


Maryland continues Big Ten play with the turn of the new year, traveling to face Michigan on January 1 and then Rutgers on January 5. The month of January closes with a three-game homestand from Jan. 25-31 that features Wisconsin, Nebraska and Indiana. February contains three road games and four home games for the Terps, including a final pair of home games against Minnesota and Northwestern. The season ends with a pair of March road games at Ohio State and Penn State.

The 2023 Big Ten Tournament will be held at the Target Center in Minneapolis from March 8-12.

Fourteen 2022 NCAA Tournament teams are included in the Terps’ 25 opponents this upcoming season, including one Elite Eight (Saint Peter’s) and four Sweet 16 (Michigan, Providence, Purdue and UCLA) teams. In all, Maryland will face NCAA Tournament teams in 17 of 31 matchups this season.

Maryland opens the 2022-23 campaign against Niagara on November 7 at home. Game times and broadcast details will be made available in the future.

“We have veterans, Jahmir Young, Don Careyyou talked about Donta [Scott] and Hakim [Hart]. You know, we have enough guys that played college basketball at the highest level that I’m not worried. Maybe some stumbles early on, that’s not going to derail this [team]. I think that’s what I love about this group, they’re very focused ,” Willard said. “This is their last week off. We had Juju [Julian Reese]Donta, Don, Jahmir, Caelum … They’re all in the gym working out and on their own, very focused on where they are now, but where they want to go.”

Full Schedule:

Friday, December 2 vs. Illinois

Tuesday, December 6 at Wisconsin

Sunday, January 1 at Michigan

Thursday, January 5 at Rutgers

Sunday, January 8 vs. Ohio State

Sunday, January 15 at lowa

Thursday, January 19 vs. Michigan

Sunday, January 22 at Purdue

Wednesday, January 25 vs. Wisconsin

Saturday, January 28 vs. Nebraska

Tuesday, January 31 vs. Indiana

Saturday, February 4 at Minnesota

Tuesday, February 7 at Michigan State

Saturday, February 11 vs. Penn State

Thursday, February 16 vs. Purdue

Sunday, February 19 at Nebraska

Wednesday, February 22 vs. Minnesota

Sunday, February 26 vs. Northwestern

Wednesday, March 1 at Ohio State

Sunday, March 5 at Penn State

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.